Meet Student Ambassador - Emily Stolwerk

My name is Emily Stolwerk, I am 16 years old and in year 11. I go to a small school called Huanui College.


I live in Langs Beach about 45 Minutes south Whangarei, with my mum, dad, cat, dog, two chickens and two sheep. I have an older sister who lives in Auckland. I was 12 years old when our first two International students joined our family, they stayed with us for 6 months and we had a lot of fun swimming, kneeboarding, paddling and we still keep in touch with them today!

I go to a small rural school called Huanui college with many great outdoor experiences such as Duke of Edinburgh. We have small classes with great teachers, lovely school grounds with the opportunity to play with the pigs, goat and chickens.

Living in Northland brings a lot of opportunities and fun to people who like the outdoors. We have glow worm caves, close too many different beaches, offer surfing lessons on some beaches. Some rural schools hold calf club days which are great fun to visit.

Some of my hobbies include playing hockey in the winter as a hockey goalie, surf life saving and patrolling the beach in the summer. I enjoy driving the surf life saving Inflatable rescue boats and being involved with Surf Life Saving.

I have had opportunities to travel throughout the country to compete in competitions, such as racing the inflatable rescue boats. A little while ago my family did a bike trip where we biked from the top of New Zealand, Cape Reinga, to Dargaville and ever since then I try and get on my bike as often as I can. I love spending my summer at the beach, body surfing, kneeboarding, swimming, paddling and hanging out with my friends and family.

More about Huanui College…

Read our latest news & student stories...